Solitude…

I was reading Mark Russell’s blog the other day about being empty to be full, which were the words of the archbishop…  Then this morning during prayers i read a mediation by Anne Morrow Lindberg which spoke of the same, here it is….

It is a difficult lesson to learn today, to leave one’s friends and family and deliberately practice the art of solitude for an hour a day or a week.   For me, the break is the most difficult….

And yet, once it is done, i find there is a quality to being alone that is incredibly precious.

Life rushes back in the void, richer, more vivid, more fuller than before.

One thought on “Solitude…

  1. Chris

    I just want to say Ben that for me the ‘Hermit in the Hills’ thing, the title I awarded myself, started as a bit of a joke. But no longer is it a joke. I spend several hours in solitude and prayer each week, and this time is on the increase. I don’t find making the break difficult – although there is often a tension between feeling I should be DOING rather than simply BEING. For me the difficulty is in re-engaging.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

