Feet +37 I need a wash….

So nearly there now.   Had someone ask me yesterday if i had forgotten to put any shoes on, and when i explained what i was doing he shook my hand and walked off.footwashing

But i have a small problem, next week on thursday we are not having a foot washing service, instead we are having a Lamb roast supper and then communiuon, which sounds great but i will not be able to go to because i have football that night, (which many may joke, but is for me ministry to the guys i meet there, and not just a jolly).  So i have no one to wash my feet.  I don’t know if you have ever had your feet washed or indeed washed anyone elses feet.  For me when i have done it and had it done it has always been an amazing and deeply moving experiance.  There is something of the other about the whole ordeal that goes beyond words.

Maybe i will take a bowl and towel into town and see if anyone wants it doing, and maybe i might find a brave soul to wash my dirty feet.

Here are the words i use when ever i wash someone’s feet

Brother, sister let me serve you
Let me be as Christ to you.
Pray that I might have the grace
To let you be my servant too.

We are pilgrims on a journey
We are friends along the road
We are here to help each other
Walk the mile and bear the load.

I will hold the Christ-light for you
In the night time of your fear.
I will hold my hand out to you
Speak the peace you long to hear.

I will weep when you are weeping
When you laugh I’ll laugh with you.
I will share your joy and sorrow
Till we’ve seen this journey through.

When we sing to God in heaven
We shall find such harmony.
Born of all we’ve known together
Of Christ’s love, and agony.

Brother, sister let me serve you
Let me be as Christ to you.
Pray that I might have the grace
To let you be my servant too

Leave a Reply

