Daily Archives: September 22, 2008

Acts of random stupidity…….. (ARS)…..

So i was in Tescos on friday just picking up a few bits and bobs,  and stood in the checkout que i thought i would try the one Act of Random Kindness that i have always thought i wanted to do, to pay for someones  shopping who is also in the que with me.  (This is in the shopping basket only que, i am not that generous!!!) so the guy in front of me had a bottle of rum and some cola and i was just about to ask him if i could pay for his shopping but i could not bring myself to ask him as i thought he might be offended and think i was being a plonker!!!  So i turned to the chap behind me, he had about £10’s worth of shopping, so i thought well here goes…..

“Excuse me.” i said very nerously “Can i pay for your shopping?”

“Sure!” replied the man “that would be great!”

I then asked the women behind the till to put our shopping together…

Then the man realised i was not just pratting about and that i was actually going to pay for his shopping suddenly changed his mind and told me that it was ok and laughed it off.  I told him it was my random act of kindness and that i wanted to do this for him, but he totally refused.

i felt a bit gutted but then he asked if i was Australian !!!!  Like i had to be some sort of weird foreigner with a radical way of living life that would do something like this!!!!

so feeling a bit deflated at not been able to be a blessing to someone else i thought “oh well, maybe next time……  but then a still small voice said in the back of my mind, you should be so lucky, lucky, lucky; lucky!”